Alliance Update, August 2019

Alliance Update

We are Growing!

You might have heard how the Alliance membership, services offered to members, and payer contract offers are all growing. So, we are growing our team as well.

Due to all of this growth, we felt the time was right to implement a newly created position to the Alliance: Director of Community Relations. Karen Bowe, MBA, MT, is excited to join our team and work with our centers in the northeast. Before joining the Hemophilia Alliance, Karen was employed as a Coagulation Specialist with Octapharma and was responsible for hemophilia product sales in Northeastern US. Prior to her tenure with Octapharma, she worked with several Specialty Pharmacies, most notably as an Area Vice President with Accredo, and was responsible for the Community Affairs Division for 13 years. Prior to that, she managed the Specialty Hematology laboratory at the Hershey Medical Center/Hemophilia Treatment Center for 15 years. Karen received her undergraduate degree in Medical Technology from Pennsylvania State University and her MBA in Health Care Administration from Eastern University. She currently resides in Harrisburg, PA.

We are pleased to introduce our new Administrator, Theresa Parker. Theresa brings a dynamic combination of strong technical skills as a programmer and designer and she has experience with SQL databases. Theresa has a degree in design from Savannah College of Art and Design. She is returning to the workforce after spending time raising her twin sons who are now in middle school. Theresa is excited about getting back in the corporate world, as she had to leave her last job unexpectedly because her boys showed up a bit early. She said she chose to work at the Alliance because of the close knit relationships we form and because we live up to the promise of reinvesting in the community. She looks forward to meeting all of our members at the fall meeting in Portland, Oregon.

The talent that we now have will multiply the dividends that our members get. Aristotle coined the phrase “The Whole is Greater than the Sum of its Parts” and we believe that the Alliance team is representative of that statement.

Also in this Issue…

Notes from Joe
· The More Things Change…

Legal Update
· Factor Loans During Emergencies: Truth and Fiction

Operations Update
· Reminder: Sharing HTC Information: Caution is the Best Policy
· Save the Date for an Alliance Session at the ASH Meeting on Making the Running of an HTC Tolerable

Washington Update

Payer Update
· Payer Relations Update


Team Alliance Contact Information

We work for you! Please don’t hesitate to contact any of us with any questions or concerns:

Name Email Phone
Joe Pugliese joe@hemoalliance.org 215-439-7173
Sean Singh sean@hemoalliance.org 727-388-7326
Jeff Blake jeff@hemoalliance.org 317-657-5913
Jeff Amond amond@hemoalliance.org 608-206-3132
Johanna Gray, MPA jgray@artemispolicygroup.com 703-304-8111
Elizabeth Karan ekaran@feldsmantucker.com 612-202-3240
Roland P. Lamy, Jr. roland@hemoalliance.org 603-491-0853
Dr. George L. Oestrich, Pharm.D., MPA george@gloetal.com 573-230-7075
Ellen Riker eriker@artemispolicygroup.com 202-257-6670
Mark Plencner mark@hemoalliance.org 701-318-2910
Michael B. Glomb MGlomb@ftlf.com 202-466-8960
Theresa Parker theresa@hemoalliance.org 727-688-2568
Karen Bowe karen@hemoalliance.org 717-571-0266
Joel Bellucci webmaster@hemoalliance.org 727-504-0491