Operations Update, 2019

Operations Update

Reminder: Sharing HTC Information: Caution is the Best Policy
By Jacqueline Lamb, Indiana Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center

An astute HTC staff member recently received a phone call from a third party requesting information about an HTC program. The caller positioned themselves as a student writing a school paper with questions asking for specific numbers of providers, about specific procedures, and for information about the pharmacy.

Rather than answer right away, the staff member asked the caller to send an email with their detailed questions. This gave the HTC enough time and information to verify the legitimacy of the request. Once received, a simple Google search of the caller’s email address, name and phone number showed that this was not a student, but instead a pharma/biotech consultant.

As a treating physician told their HTC staff previously, “What may seem like an innocuous question about patient care is often not so innocent. Many companies are trying to obtain information about how we view (a product), how we approach our patient population and how it will affect our ordering. This is not information that I feel comfortable sharing with companies.”

Please be careful not to discuss your center’s use of any particular product or service with individuals outside of your center without proper consideration.

Save the Date for an Alliance Session at the ASH Meeting on Making the Running of an HTC Tolerable

As you prepare for the ASH annual meeting this December, we hope you add one of our sessions to your calendar. This year our topic will be “Making the Running of an HTC Tolerable.”

We will offer several sessions in the morning with breakfast and in the evening with dinner. Our sessions will be interactive where we will discuss HTC operations, payer initiatives and a look at the 340B program in 2020 and beyond. The breakout sessions will be hosted by Joe Pugliese, President and CEO, Sean Singh, SVP of Marketing and Operations and Jeff Blake, SVP of Payer Relations.

If you are unable to make one of our team sessions, we can accommodate you on an individual basis.

If there are any topics or specific issues you would like for us to discuss, please contact Joe at Joe@hemoalliance.org.

Also in this Issue…

Notes from Joe
· The More Things Change…

Alliance Update
· We are Growing!
· Save the Date for an Alliance Session at the ASH Meeting on Making the Running of an HTC Tolerable

Legal Update
· Factor Loans During Emergencies: Truth and Fiction

Washington Update

Payer Update
· Payer Relations Update


Team Alliance Contact Information

We work for you! Please don’t hesitate to contact any of us with any questions or concerns:

Name Email Phone
Joe Pugliese joe@hemoalliance.org 215-439-7173
Sean Singh sean@hemoalliance.org 727-388-7326
Jeff Blake jeff@hemoalliance.org 317-657-5913
Jeff Amond amond@hemoalliance.org 608-206-3132
Johanna Gray, MPA jgray@artemispolicygroup.com 703-304-8111
Elizabeth Karan ekaran@feldsmantucker.com 612-202-3240
Roland P. Lamy, Jr. roland@hemoalliance.org 603-491-0853
Dr. George L. Oestrich, Pharm.D., MPA george@gloetal.com 573-230-7075
Ellen Riker eriker@artemispolicygroup.com 202-257-6670
Mark Plencner mark@hemoalliance.org 701-318-2910
Michael B. Glomb MGlomb@ftlf.com 202-466-8960
Theresa Parker theresa@hemoalliance.org 727-688-2568
Karen Bowe karen@hemoalliance.org 717-571-0266
Joel Bellucci webmaster@hemoalliance.org 727-504-0491