Notes from the Community, March 2019

Notes from the Community

Promoting XXcellence in Women’s Health: Optimal Management of Women and Girls with Bleeding Disorders and Blood Disorders
By Kerry Funkhouser, Executive Director, Foundation for Women and Girls with Blood Disorders


The Foundation for Women and Girls with Blood Disorders (FWGBD) has announced the call for applications for its 2019 Promoting XXcellence in Women’s Health: Optimal Management of Women and Girls with Blood Disorders and Bleeding Disorders research fellowship awards.

The overarching purpose of these awards is twofold: to assist new faculty or fellows in conducting research in hematology and/or in obstetrics/gynecology in the area of bleeding and other blood disorders affecting women and girls, and to further and sustain their research interest in improving the lives of these women and girls.

The specific objectives of the FWGBD Research Awards are to:

  • Create and sustain interest/knowledge of the next-generation of healthcare providers, i.e., physician-researchers working in bleeding and other blood disorders affecting women/girls,
  • Foster collaboration between two core disciplines for WGBD—the Obstetrician/Gynecologist and the Hematologist, and
  • Provide an opportunity for junior faculty or fellows to conduct research in this important area

Since 2016, the program has awarded $160,000 to six recipients. Selected through a rigorous application process, past recipients have participated in research in the following areas: monitoring of reduction of hemoglobin during the menstrual cycle in symptomatic Hemophilia A or B carriers; coagulating disorders in menstruating adolescent females; vaso-occlusive pain associated with menstruation in women with sickle cell disease; and women with antiphospholipid syndrome.

The 2018 award winners and their research projects were:
Special Award Focus Area: Bleeding Disorders Affecting Women and Girls ($35,000) – This Award was made possible through a medical education grant from Shire.

Julia Coleman, MD, Trauma Research Fellow at the University of Colorado in Denver
Project Title: Sex Dimorphisms in Trauma-Induced Coagulopathy: A Mechanistic Exploration of a Sex-Specific Survival Benefit

Award Focus Area: Blood Disorders – all Blood Disorders ($15,000, FWGBD)

Tazim Dowlut-McElory, MD, MS
Project Title: Use of Levonorgestrel-Releasing Intrauterine Device for the Treatment of Heavy Menstrual Bleeding in Adolescents with Bleeding Disorders

Additional information on these awards and the recipients is located on FWGBD’s website at http://www.fwgbd.org/about/research-fellowship-awards

To apply for a research award, eligible applicants must:

  • Submit a complete application (see criteria and application online, fwgbd.org)
  • Be an MD or DO who is an early-stage investigator, or a current fellow in Hematology or Obstetrics/Gynecology
  • Have a research mentor who is senior faculty at the applicant’s home institution for the duration of the award
  • Demonstrate active, working collaboration with a peer in the related discipline—Obstetrics/Gynecology for the Hematology applicant and Hematology for the Obstetrics/Gynecology applicant
  • Have an approved or pending IRB approval at the time of grant application submission

In 2019, three awards will be given – two with a special focus on bleeding disorders and one in the area of all blood disorders. More information can be found at http://www.fwgbd.org/fwgbd-research-awards. Entries will be accepted for the 2019 award through Friday, April 26, 2019.

Also in this Issue…

Notes from Joe
· HTCs and Chapters: Natural Partners
· Hemophilia Alliance Foundation Update

Washington Update
· HTCs Are Not Subject to Hospitals’ GPO Exclusion: Apexus FAQ 2653
· Alliance Submits Response to Senate HELP Committee Request for Policy Ideas

Payer Update
· The Covered Outpatient Drug Rule (CODR)…Two Years Later

Alliance Update
· Reminder: Please Register for the Spring Meeting!


Team Alliance Contact Information

We work for you! Please don’t hesitate to contact any of us with any questions or concerns:

Name Email Phone
Joe Pugliese joe@hemoalliance.org 215-439-7173
Sean Singh sean@hemoalliance.org 727-388-7326
Jeff Blake jeff@hemoalliance.org 317-657-5913
Jeff Amond amond@hemoalliance.org 608-206-3132
Johanna Gray, MPA jgray@artemispolicygroup.com 703-304-8111
Elizabeth Karan ekaran@feldsmantucker.com 612-202-3240
Roland P. Lamy, Jr. roland@hemoalliance.org 603-491-0853
Dr. George L. Oestrich, Pharm.D., MPA george@gloetal.com 573-230-7075
Ellen Riker eriker@artemispolicygroup.com 202-257-6670
Mark Plencner mark@hemoalliance.org 701-318-2910
Michael B. Glomb MGlomb@ftlf.com 202-466-8960
Theresa Parker theresa@hemoalliance.org 727-688-2568
Karen Bowe karen@hemoalliance.org 717-571-0266
Joel Bellucci webmaster@hemoalliance.org 727-504-0491